Blog Details

Home   /   Eastbourne Town 6-0 Midhurst and Easebourne – Match Report

Eastbourne Town cruised to a resounding 6-0 victory over Midhurst and Easebourne at The Saffrons on Tuesday night, easing them through to the second round of the Sussex Senior Cup.

John Lambert’s side dominated proceedings from start to finish, as six different goal scorers all played their part in defeating their lower league opposition.

Town opened the scoring in the 11th minute, a ball was fizzed into the area which Josh Bird failed to deal with, leaving Dan Rogers to tap into the empty net.

And four minutes later, the hosts doubled their lead.

Aaron Hopkinson received the ball on the left flank, before unleashing an audacious lob from 25 yards out; his strike looped over the head of Bird and into the back of the net.

The leaders of the Southern Combination Football League Division One found themselves 3-0 down wthin 33 minutes, this time Aaron Capon capitalising on poor defending.

The second half was much the same, as Town continued to put The Stags to the sword, substitute Leke Ademola was a particular thorn in the visitors side.

The forward netted the home side’s fourth five minutes after the half-time interval, as he latched onto a long ball, charged forward and fired against the post before tapping home the follow-up from a tight angle.

Five minutes later, Lambert’s men had their fifth.

Ademola again being a nuisance as he drew Bird from his line, the striker’s effort was cleared only into the path of Jack Samways, who volleyed into an empty net.

Fletcher Hilman rounded off the scoring for Town 22 minutes before time, as he was presented with a chance he simply couldn’t miss, tapping home leaving Bird no chance in the Stags’ goal.

Eastbourne Town: Chris Winterton, Matt Barbsa-Rodrigues, Sam Cole, Jack Samways, Dan Rogers, Leon Greig, Aaron Capon, Simon Johnson, Louis Venti (Leke Ademola), Kian Moynes, Aaron Hopkinson (Fletcher Hilman).

Midhurst and Easebourne: Josh Bird, Harry Farr, Harry Tremlett, Harry Giles, Laurie Smith, Duncan Brown, Will Essai (Nathan Casselton), Charlie Cooper (Ollie Herring), Marcus Bedford (Luke Brockhurst), James Kiddle, Alex Brazier.

Leave a Reply

Follow Overtime on Twitter

TikTok Feed


May 2024