Blog Details

Home   /   Delhi Capitals IPL 2021 Preview

Last years runners up Delhi Capitals will be hoping to go one step closer this season in the IPL and lift the trophy at the end of the season.

Team History

The Dehli Capitals are one of the original IPL teams from 2008 however they still have never won the tournament in the teams history. In 2020 they reached the final of the tournament for the first time in the teams history. The Capitals has one of the worst records out of all the teams when it comes to qualifying for the playoffs, they qualified five times in twelve years.

Dehli Capitals Records

Biggest Total: 231-4 vs Punjab Kings 2011

Lowest Total: 66 vs Mumbai Indians 2017

Biggest Total Conceded: 222-5 vs Chennai Super Kings 2012

Lowest Total Conceded: 91 vs Mumbai Indians 2012

Most Runs: Shreyas Iyer 2015-present

Highest individual score: Rishabh Pant 128 runs against Sunrisers Hyderabad 2018

Most runs in a season: Rishabh Pant 684 runs 2018

Most Wickets: Amit Mishra 100 wickets 2008-present

Most Wickets in a year: Kagiso Rabada 30 wickets 2020

Best Figures in a innings: Amit Mishra 5-17 vs Deccan Chargers 2008

Most Games: Amit Mishra 95 games 2008-present

Last season

Last year was the Capitals most successful year as a team as they reached the final of the tournament where they lost to the Mumbai Indians. Throughout the season Kagiso Rabada was very impressive and he won the Purple cap at the end of the season for the most wickets in the competition. Rabada was supported well by his fellow South African fast bowler Anrich Nortje who took 22 wickets. Shikhar Dhawan and Shreyas Iyer stared with the bat scoring 618 and 517 runs which bought the Capitals a lot of success. At the end of the season the Capitals released Alex Carey, Jason Roy and Mohit Sharma.

New Players

Steve Smith (Batter) Previous teams: RCB, PWI, RPS & RR

Umesh Yadav (Fast Bowler) Previous teams: DD, KKR & RCB

Ripal Patel (All Rounder) Debut Season

Vishnu Vinod (Wicket Keeper) Previous teams: RCB

Lukman Meriwala (Fast Bowler) Debut Season

Manimaran Siddharth (Spinner) Previous team: KKR

Tom Curran (All Rounder) Previous team: KKR & RR

Sam Billings (Wicket Keeper) Previous team: CSK

Star Batter

Shikhar Dhawan

Embed from Getty Images

Last year Shikhar Dhawan was very impressive scoring 618 runs, he also became the first man in the history of the IPL to get back to back centuries. In the past four year Dhawan has scored more runs every year. Dhawan is going into the IPL this year after a good one day series against England and the 35 year old will be hoping to lead the Capital’s to an IPL title at the end of the season.

Best Bowler

Kagiso Rabada

Last year Kagiso Rabada was the leading wicket taker in the IPL with 30 wickets. Rabada was able to get get a lot of wickets at the start of an innings as well as perform brilliantly in the death overs. Going into the new season the Capitals will be hoping to see Rabada to perform well again for the coming season where the Capitals will be searching for their first title. The 25 year old South African has showed everyone his ability for two years in a row in the IPL getting 54 wickets.

Player to Watch

Rishabh Pant

With Shreyas Iyer out injured for the tournament this year Rishabh Pant is going to be the captain for the Capital’s this season. Pant been one of the best players in the world in 2021 playing for India against Australia and England. The young wicket-keeper played a match winning innings against Australia at the Gabba and England in Ahmedabad. Pant will be hoping to bring his form into the IPL this season and everyone knows he is a player that can single handily win his team games.

Leave a Reply

Follow Overtime on Twitter

TikTok Feed


June 2024