Blog Details

Home   /   Australia Win The Cricket World Cup

Australia won their first ever T20 World Cup in stunning fashion as they cruised to victory against New Zealand, winning by eight wickets with seven balls to spare.

Mitchell Marsh produced a player of the match display to win Australia the match with a brutal 77 not out off just 50 balls to destroy New Zealand’s hope of finally winning a final.

David Warner helped to kickstart Australia’s chase with a quickfire 53 from 38 balls with some exquisite shots especially against Tim Southee.

New Zealand posted a very competitive total of 172 for four wickets from their twenty overs thanks to a brilliant 85 from 48 balls from captain Kane Williamson.

Josh Hazelwood’s brilliant bowling was the main reason that Australia were able to limit New Zealand to under 200. Hazlewood took three wickets for 16 runs from his four overs. Adam Zampa also bowled brilliantly to take one wicket for 26 runs from his four overs in the middle of the innings.

Australia finally got their hands on the trophy with Glenn Maxwell hitting the winning runs off the last ball of the 19th over and the Australian squad charged on to the pitch to celebrate.

Leave a Reply

Follow Overtime on Twitter

TikTok Feed